Paris Agreement – Status of Ratification

194 Parties out of 198 Parties to the Convention are Parties to the Paris Agreement.

On 5 October 2016, the threshold for the entry into force of the Paris Agreement was achieved.

The Paris Agreement entered into force on 4 November 2016, thirty days after the date on which at least 55 Parties to the Convention accounting in total for at least an estimated 55 % of the total global greenhouse gas emissions have deposited their instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession with the Depositary.

Authoritative information on the status of the Paris Agreement, including information on signatories to the Agreement, ratification and entry into force, is provided by the Depositary, through the United Nations Treaty Collection website, which can be accessed here, and the Depositary Notifications which are available here.

Further information related to the Paris Agreement can be found here.